Australian Embassy
The Philippines

MR112709-14 Filipinos awarded Australian Leadership Award Scholarships


Australian Ambassador to the Philippines, Rod Smith has announced that 14 Filipinos have been awarded the prestigious Australian Leadership Award (ALA) Scholarship to further their studies in 2010.

“These 14 outstanding Filipinos have been identified for their potential to assume leadership roles which can influence social and economic policy reform and development outcomes in the Philippines and the region,” Ambassador Smith said.

Australian Embassy Counsellor Andrew Egan, Development Cooperation (back row, 3rd from left) and John Alikpala from AusAID (back row, rightmost) together with the 14 recipients of the Australian Leadership Awards.

“The awards demonstrate Australia’s commitment to supporting development in the Philippines, and to promoting greater mutual understanding and cooperation in matters of shared critical concern. Scholarships have been an integral part of Australia’s aid program to the Philippines for 50 years.

“Australia’s scholarship program reflects the fundamental principle underpinning our development partnership with the Philippines – education has the power to transform lives. Education is the engine room of ideas. It revolutionises opportunity, builds the fabric of societies, and promotes development and fosters the growth of durable institutions.

“These 14 ALA scholarship recipients will undertake postgraduate studies at Australian universities in fields including public policy, community development and planning, peace and conflict studies, marine studies, forensic science, and business administration. They will also participate in a Leadership Development Program which will strengthen their leadership skills, establish regional networks and enhance their understanding of regional development challenges. I wish them well in their endeavours.”

Ambassador Smith said Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd recently launched a new initiative, the Australia Awards, which would bring together all Australian scholarship programs, including the ALA, to ensure these programs were consolidated, better branded, and delivered to support the long-term interests of Australia and its partners. Over time, the Australia Awards would build a new generation of leadership across Asia with strong links to Australia.

The ALA Scholarship recipients are: Paul Adolfo (Master of Public Policy, Australian National University), Ma. Gena Buenconsejo (Master of Community Planning and Development, La Trobe University), Maria Frencie Carreon (PhD in Arts, Peace and Conflict Studies, University of Sydney), Juan Dayang, Jr (PhD Diplomatic Studies, Australian National University), Francis Ron De Guzman (Master of Climate Change, Australian National University), Wilham Hailaya (PhD Education - University of Adelaide), Jayson Ibanez (PhD, Charles Darwin University), Jaime Manalo IV (Master of Communication, University of Queensland), Lorelei Peralta (Master of Marine Studies, University of Wollongong), Benjamin Pineda (Master of Governance and Public Policy, University of Queensland), Tomas Pedro Reginaldo (Master of Rehabilitation Counselling, University of Sydney), Lorna Santos (Master of Forensic Science, Bond University), Mary Rose Soria (Master of Applied Science in Geology, James Cook University), and Susan Valerio (PhD Business Administration, Charles Darwin University.