Australian Embassy
The Philippines

MR140328: Australian Parliamentary delegation to visit the Philippines

Australian Parliamentary delegation to visit the Philippines

A delegation of Australian Senators and members of Parliament will visit the Philippines from 31 March – 3 April 2014 as part of their ASEAN regional tour.

The delegation leader, The Hon Bruce Scott, Deputy Speaker, said “We are pleased to have the opportunity to visit the Philippines, a country where Australia has a strong bilateral relationship. Australia values its deep-rooted and broad-ranging partnership with the Philippines particularly in the areas of growing people-to-people ties, trade and investment, development and security cooperation.”

Through this visit, the Australian parliamentary delegation will gain a greater appreciation of the current political and economic issues facing the Philippines, and gain a better understanding of the Philippines’ relations with its ASEAN neighbours.

The delegation will meet counterparts in the Philippine Senate and House of Representatives, and key Philippine Government departments, commercial entities and development organisations.

Australian Ambassador to the Philippines Bill Tweddell said, “This visit will reinforce the very good state of the bilateral relationship. It will also highlight to the delegation the excellent cooperation underway across the breadth of our relations.”

While in the Philippines, the Australian Parliamentary delegation will visit Bohol where the Australian Government has a number of aid programs, including post-earthquake rehabilitation activities.

The other members of the delegation include Mr Ken Wyatt MP, Senator the Hon Don Farrell, Senator Helen Kroger, Hon Alan Griffin MP, Ms Elysia Ruttley, Adviser to the Deputy Speaker, and Mr Peter Banson, Delegation Secretary.